Comm Arts Honors Outstanding Undergrad Students with Achievement Awards

Every year, the department has the pleasure of giving out a handful of awards and scholarships to outstanding undergraduate students majoring in Communication Arts. We are proud to announce the recipients for 2011-12:

Rachel Bozich and Zachary Pestine were both awarded the Christopher Neal Heinlein Memorial Scholarship. These scholarships, named in honor of Comm Arts student Chris Heinlein and endowed by his family, are awarded to students who demonstrate academic or artistic achievement, financial need, and good nature, kindness, humor, hard work, arts interest, and personableness.

Olivia Babler, Logan Middleton, and Holly Wallace each won the Charline M. Wackman Award. These scholarships are given to students who are natives of Wisconsin and who excel in one of these three areas: high achievement (a 3.25 or higher GPA is required); superior projects (senior thesis proposal, film or video production, or creative writing assignment); and service to the department (volunteer duties, leadership activities, or otherwise promoting the department’s objectives and mission).

Alexa Sunby received the CBS Network Programming Internship. This paid summer internship at CBS Television in Los Angeles is a competitive position awarded to only one student each year. More information about this valuable internship opportunity can be found here.

Jonah Egermeier and Brittany Radocha both earned Daily Show with Jon Stewart Internships in the Spring semester. Each semester, The Daily Show reserves at least one internship spot for a Comm Arts major; students must apply for these highly coveted positions. More information about Comm Arts’ ongoing internship program with The Daily Show can be found here.

Erin Shannon won a grant to participate in the Telluride Film Festival Student Symposium. This award enables an undergraduate student representative to attend one of the top film festivals in the world, where he or she is provided close access to filmmakers through a series of symposium-only discussions and lectures.

Congratulations to all of the award recipients on their accomplishments! And an additional congratulations to all of the Comm Arts majors who graduated this year. The department faculty and staff would like to recognize your achievement and wish you well going forward.