by Peter G. Sengstock on April 03, 2009

Joey Garfield (Comm Arts, '92) recently directed Visa's new advertisement "Flow" (2009) which has been released in Europe.

by Peter G. Sengstock on April 01, 2009

Department of Communication Arts students and staff recently collaborated to create the new TV spot for the 2009 Wisconsin Film Festival (April 2 - 5).

The ad was a collaborative project between:

by Peter G. Sengstock on February 26, 2009

At the 81st Academy Awards Ceremony on February 22, 2009, Director Megan Mylan won anOscar for Best Documentary Short Subject for her documentary Smile Pinki (2008). In her acceptance speech, she noted:

"Documentary, like all filmmaking, is a complete team sport, and I'd like to thank my editor Purcell Carson...and from HBO Sheila Nevins and Lisa Heller."

by Peter G. Sengstock on February 25, 2009

The Broadcast Education Association (BEA) has named Comm Arts alumnus Shawn VanCour the recipient of the 19th annual Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Award.

by Peter G. Sengstock on December 29, 2008

Congratulations to Stuart Bass (Comm Arts, '78), an accomplished freelance film editor for his outstanding accomplishment in the field of television editing.

by Peter G. Sengstock on December 28, 2008

Walter Mirisch's (History, '42) autobiography, I Thought We Were Making Movies, Not History, provides a unique insider's view of the film industry though the life and experiences of an industry giant whose name is synonymous with numberous film classics, including three that won the Acdemy Award for best picture -- The Apartme

by Peter G. Sengstock on December 28, 2008

The Hollywood Badgers, a group founded in 2005 by Comm Arts alumni Lesley Feinstein (Comm Arts, '03) and Mary Rohlich (Comm Arts, '03), were featured in the Fall 2008 issue of On Wisconsin, UW-Madison's magazine for alumni and friends. 

by Peter G. Sengstock on December 28, 2008

Congratulations to award-winning Communication Arts colleagues Susan Zaeske and Kelley Conway.

by Peter G. Sengstock on December 28, 2008

Former Wisconsin governor Lee Sherman Dreyfus passed away on January 2 at age 81. He is well remembered by Wisconsinites as an enlightened political leader (he signed the state's 1982 gay rights legislation), a successful grassroots campaigner, and a flamboyant public figure sporting a distinctive red vest. Those of us in Communication Arts are proud to recall Governor Dreyfus's special connection to the Department and the University.

by Peter G. Sengstock on December 28, 2008

Professor Lyn Van Swol, who joined our faculty this fall, won the National Communication Association Group Communication Division's 2007 Dennis Gouran Research award for the best published paper in group research. She received her award at the past NCA meeting for her article "Differences between Minority, Majority, and Unanimous Group Members in the Communication of Information," published in Human Communication Research in 2006.