by Kelley Conway on January 25, 2019

We are delighted to announce that Professor Allison M. Prasch has accepted a faculty position in the Department of Communication Arts.

by Michael Trevis on January 24, 2019

Communication Arts Professor Sara McKinnon is one of the Chancellor’s 2019 Distinguished Teaching Award recipients!

by Michael Trevis on December 25, 2018

Jivonte Davis in the film No Place Like Home.

by Michael Trevis on December 18, 2018

On the evening of December 4, the top 18 persuasive speakers enrolled in the fall semester of Communication Arts 100 competed in the CA 100 Speech Contest.

by Kelley Conway on December 03, 2018

Communication Arts professor Lyn Van Swol and her former advisee Cassandra Hill (now an assistant professor at Carolina Coastal University) recently received the Dennis Gouran Research Award at the National Communication Association for best published paper in group communication.

by Michael Trevis on November 02, 2018

In October, George F. Hamel Jr. (’80) was one of five people to receive the Distinguished Alumni Award from the Wisconsin Alumni Association.

by Michael Trevis on September 27, 2018

Emmy Award-winning comedy writer, actor, and Communication Arts alum Brian Stack (’88) visited UW–Madison on September 14.

by Michael Trevis on September 10, 2018

It is with great enthusiasm that we announce Professor Rob Asen is the 2018 recipient of the Golden Anniversary Monograph Award from the National Communication Association (NCA).

by Michael Trevis on September 02, 2018

Join us for a symposium with UW–Madison alumni documentary producers Justine Nagan, Raney Aronson-Rath, and Libby Geist. Attend one or two discussions with the filmmakers, as well as free screenings of their recent films.


Careers in Documentary – Friday, Sept. 7, 10:00am-12:00pm

Documentary Aesthetics + Politics - Friday, Sept. 7, 2:00-4:00pm 


Typeface – Justine Nagan in person! – Thursday, Sept. 6, 7:00pm

Documenting Hate: Charlottesville – Friday, Sept. 7, 5:00pm